Saturday, May 26, 2012

Winners of the 2012 EWF Writing Competition

Finally! Here they are: the winners of the 2012 Elora Writers’ Festival Writing Competition.

Prizes are awarded only for first, second and third place in each category.  Although the judges have also acknowledged other works that stood out from the crowd, there is no prize associated with these Honourable Mentions.  Thanks again to our sponsors: the Elora Arts Council, the Community Resource Centre of North and Centre Wellington, and Writer’s Life blog.

Any winners who are at the Festival on Sunday, May 27 (1:00pm to 4:00pm at the Wellington County Museum and Archives, 0536 Country Road 18, Centre Wellington) will receive their prize at the intermission. Young writers are welcome to drop in during the intermission (approximately 2:00pm-2:30pm) to attend the prize presentation.  But don’t worry: if you can’t attend, your prize will be mailed to you.

Again, congratulations to all writers for putting your creativity on display – and for making the effort to support our Festival and writing competition. Stay tuned to this site for information about next year’s competition – our tenth!

Jean Mills, Contest Chair

Category 1 (Age 20+)

Story (Judge: Sharon Blomfield)

1. Michael Joll                        Brampton                   With Regret
2. Chuck Lovatt                      Carroll, MB                 A
3. Namrata Tilokani              Brampton                   The Sun-Kissed Roads
HM Donna Gamache             MacGregor, MB          Return to the River
HM Vania Selvaggi                Toronto                      The Cockleshells of Marilyn

Poetry (Judge: Adrian Hoad-Reddick)

1. Mary Ellen Sullivan           Halifax NS                  From This Place
2. Anna Bowen                      Guelph                        Falkland
3. Laurel Armstrong              Goderich                     Map by Sun and Moon
HM Tracie Klaehn                 Kitchener                   Abigail
HM Erik Mortenson              Guelph                        We Are Canadian?               

Category 2 (Age 15-19)

Story (Judge: Heather Debling)

1. Isobel McHattie                 Puslinch                     Rabid
2. Yunshu Luo                       Chesterfield MO        Taped
3. Madelle Krucker               Guelph                        Underground           
HM Ioana Grosu                    Troy MI                      Passing Trains
HM Yunshu Luo                    Chesterfield MO        Schumann Recordings Don’t
                                                                                    Always Have to be Heard

Poetry (Judge: Keri-Lyn Durant)

1. Rich Larson                        Edmonton AB             I Am Orpheus
2. Kyla Craig                          Guelph                        An Evolution
3. Anisha Datta                      Hollsboro OR              Phoenix
HM Jessica Davies                 Guelph                        The Years are Greedy
HM Ioanna Malton                Waterloo                    Insane Immortals

Category 3 (Age 12-14)

Story (Judge: Heather Wright)

1. Luke M. Stacey                   Cathlamet, WA           To the Top
2. Max Horne                         Burlington ON           Journey to Nowhere
3. Madeline Cuillerier              Ottawa                        A Puddle of Laughter
HM Raven Griffin                  Maryhill                      My Journey
HM Hadley Cornelious          Camlachie                  Coming Home

Poetry (Judge: Kira Vermond)

1. Luke Stacey                     Cathlamet WA           Impact
2. Lara Kahn                        Guelph                        To the Boy
3. Marc-Andre Blanchard     La Prairie, PQ              Journey of Hope       
HM Emily Oakes                  Guelph                        Journey Through the Pony
HM Lara Kahn                     Guelph                        I Wish I Could Tell You

Category 4 (age 11 and under)

Story (Judge: Lisa MacColl)

1. Finnegan Hunter-O’Connor     Kitchener               The Hydra Chronicles:
Mystery of The Titanic
2. Alice Kennedy                         Elora                      Gore   
3. Elana Oakes                             Elora                      Orphans Preferred
HM Ted A. Stacey                      Cathlamet WA       Journey to the Dragon’s Lair
HM Isaac Bergstrom                    Eora PS                 The Adventure of a Peanut
HM Symon Elkas                        Elora PS                 The Sneaky Kangaroo

Poetry (Judge: Carey Gallagher)

1. Isabella Taylor              Austin TX                   Antigone
2. Venika Vachani            Andheri, Mumbai      A Journey
3. Joshua Doupe               Belwood                     Sea Journey
HM Jonah Doupe             Belwood               Up, Up and Away                             


  1. can the poems be put up to be read?

  2. Thank you for the good news! It made my day! Where can we read the winning entries?